Grateful to be Boring

May 22, 2010

Like most people I know, I have plenty to be thankful for—too much in fact.  When I think of all the things I’m currently grateful for, it boggles my mind.  But I know that to mention even one of those things would bore you to tears. I’ll bet you’re grateful I didn’t.  

  

As for complaints, I had a few this week:  caught a cold, was weird from taking Advil Cold and Sinus, felt put-upon and crabby a couple days at work and spent too much time grumbling to myself.  The worst was blowing off the chance to meet a friend’s mother who was visiting L.A. from Cleveland last weekend.  Maybe that doesn’t sound too exciting to you, but by failing to make it out with them for lunch or drinks, I ended up disappointing the couple friends involved.  Disappointing friends, especially ones I’m trying to be better friends with, is one of the worst feelings for me these days.  Will there ever be a chance for a do-over on this one?  Not if airfare doesn’t get ridiculously cheap.  

 

This weekend I’m back to being upbeat.  And I won’t say I am but that I should be grateful to be intrinsically boring.  It means I’ve got a list of blessings somewhere that would put you to sleep.

Leave a comment