Changing Course

June 7, 2010

Now that I’ve set up the “daily do-over” to be something I, at least, accept as a common practice, it’s time to pose the question: do do-overs serve any purpose in our lives besides make us look forward to having a stiff drink or getting Alzheimer’s?  Can I honestly say that do-overs collectively, or at least one individually has changed the course of my life for the better?  My first thought is:  of course.  Clearly a lot of situations repeat themselves and having previously reflected on an improved course of action would naturally prepare you to handle that similar situation better (bolder, funnier, kinder etc.) in the future. Though I can’t think of many right off the bat, I do recall an incident involving one of the worst, most misguided moments of my life.  Without going into too much self-incriminating detail, it involved handing a whip and an executioner’s hood from an exotic toy store to a supervisor in front of all my coworkers at a staff meeting.  I can certainty say the incident has cured me of punking or pranking anyone from that day forward. You could argue this is less a do-over than, more precisely, a don’t-ever-do,  you idiot. 

Leave a comment